git review fails w/ “Please make sure you have the correct access rights and the repository exists”

We’ve just setup gerrit in house. Some projects work, some don’t. The ones that don’t work fail like this:

git review -v
2014-02-26 11:54:57.029764 Running: git log --color=never --oneline HEAD^1..HEAD
2014-02-26 11:54:57.032894 Running: git remote
2014-02-26 11:54:57.035826 Running: git branch -a --color=never
2014-02-26 11:54:57.040726 Running: git rev-parse --show-toplevel --git-dir
2014-02-26 11:54:57.043507 Running: git remote update gerrit
Fetching gerrit
2014-02-26 11:54:58.697639 Running: git rebase -i remotes/gerrit/master
2014-02-26 11:54:58.840323 Running: git reset --hard ORIG_HEAD
2014-02-26 11:54:58.850137 Running: git config --get color.ui
2014-02-26 11:54:58.854311 Running: git log --color=always --decorate --oneline HEAD --not remotes/gerrit/master --
2014-02-26 11:54:58.860093 Running: git branch --color=never
2014-02-26 11:54:58.864691 Running: git log HEAD^1..HEAD
Using local branch name "master" for the topic of the change submitted
2014-02-26 11:54:58.872208 Running: git push gerrit HEAD:refs/publish/master
fatal: One or more refs/for/ names blocks change upload
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.
2014-02-26 11:55:00.029139 Running: git rev-parse --show-toplevel --git-dir

Contents of .gitview:

  • Git push to peer branch
  • Can't find 'Label Verified' permission in gerrit 2.7
  • How do I work in multiple fixes while waiting for a review in Gerrit?
  • How to make a changeset pushed for code review dependent on newer changeset pushed for different code review afterwards
  • Cannot merge in Gerrit
  • Submit new/fixed code to an existing Gerrit branch after review
  • [gerrit]
    host=gitlab.company.net
    project=api/core-services.git
    

    git review -s has been run and remotes are configured:

    git remote -v
    gerrit  ssh://me@gitlab.company.net:29418/api/core-services.git (fetch)
    gerrit  ssh://me@gitlab.company.net:29418/api/core-services.git (push)
    origin  git@gitlab.company.net:api/core-services.git (fetch)
    origin  git@gitlab.company.net:api/core-services.git (push)
    

    The project doesn’t show up in the project list (also missing from UI):

    ssh -p 29418 gitlab.company.net gerrit ls-projects | grep core-services
    (returns nothing)
    

    But when I try to add the project it already exists (also fails when adding from UI):

    ssh -p 29418 gitlab.company.net gerrit create-project api/core-services.git
    fatal: project "api/core-services" exists
    

    git for-each-ref refs/for returns nothing.

    I am setup as an administrator in gerrit. I can push to origin. Currently working on master since it is a new project. No other branches. Running ubuntu 13.10, git 1.8.3.2 and git-review 1.21 locally. GitLab 6.4.3 3173626, git 1.8.4.4 and Gerrit 2.8.1 on the server. I can submit reviews on other projects.

    Right now, the only common thing that I can find between the projects that don’t work is that they contain a dash (“-“) in the name.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction here? Searches haven’t turned up anything useful and I’m at my limit of gerrit knowledge.

    Thanks.

  • Git. How can I track file (folder) only in one branch
  • How do I restore a previous version as a new commit in Git?
  • Visual Studio 2010/2012 Git Plugin
  • Use GIT fork / branches
  • Git workflow: IP work in branch
  • How to properly setup and work with Git Flow
  • One Solution collect form web for “git review fails w/ “Please make sure you have the correct access rights and the repository exists””

    Seems like git review is trying to push like this

    HEAD:refs/publish/master
    

    It should push like this

     HEAD:refs/for/master
    
    Git Baby is a git and github fan, let's start git clone.