Git erased my changes, can I get them back
I had some changes in a branch, we’ll call it branch2. I switched to the master branch without committing the changes. I’m guessing this is a no-no because when I switched back to branch2 all of my change were gone! It sure would have been nice if the GitHub client for mac would have warned me. Is there anyway I can undo this action and get my changes back?
- git permission denied but for different user
- What is little red arrow and no sign in github desktop?
- Github client for mac: how to overcome the Great Wall?
- I lost my uncommited changes after I made a merge
- Git and Github Mac App incompatibilities?
- Github for Mac not showing diffs on code sources
One Solution collect form web for “Git erased my changes, can I get them back”
If it wasn’t committed, then there’s nothing to do. Although, this is weird because normally git won’t allow you to switch branch if you have uncommitted data in your working directory (I don’t know for github for mac exactly).
You can always check
git reflog to see if you have committed your data.