Delete forked repo from GitHub

I’m starting with git and GitHub and there’s a project I’m watching on GitHub. I unintentionally clicked to fork it. Now it appears as a new project to me.

I have some doubts about it:

  • Git Directory Permissions Always 000
  • OSX Using Beyond Compare as git difftool
  • GitHub Etiquette: How to make a received GitHub PR with changed history ff-mergeable?
  • Why cherry-pick pick change more than one commit?
  • SSH to Openshift server fails
  • GIT undo a commit that isn't the most recent, rebase all commits since
    • I know if commit or do another thing to my forked repo, it will be updated, but the updated code will take effect only after the project’s author request the pull. Right?
    • If I go to admin panel on GitHub there’s a delete option. If I delete it as the option above, will it make any effect in the original one or not?

    I’d like to delete it. By now I’m just studying the code and don’t really need the fork.

  • How do I get vanilla Markdown style relative links to work with vanilla Jekyll and Github pages?
  • The project disappear from gitweb after a git push
  • VSTS unprotect git branch
  • How to get a fresh copy of a branch from the remote repository?
  • Encrypted version control
  • Git push fails within GNU screen
  • 7 Solutions collect form web for “Delete forked repo from GitHub”

    Deleting it will do nothing to the original project. Editing it will only edit your fork on your repo page.

    By far the easiest way is to log in gitHub account:

    1. Click to your repository {for example yourUsername/yourRepository for example mbaric/test}
    2. Then in the main toolbar of github click on Settings
    3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and you will find Delete this repository button
    4. When you click it another pop up will appear here you need to type in the name of your repository and click on the button below which says: I understand the consequences, delete the repository
    5. If you are having trouble to do it, below are the images that can be checked…

    2017-06-14 – GitHub changed the UI again, Here are new images. Enjoy.



    Just delete the forked repo from your GitHub account.

    • If I go to admin panel on GitHub there’s a delete option. If I delete it as the option above, will it make any effect in the original one or not?

    It wont make any changes in the original one; cos, its your repo now.

    There will not be any harm deleting the forked repositories. You can again fork that. It won’t change the original code. The flow is like this…

    1) You fork a repository. Just think of this as another copy of code which you can access or make changes to. The url of this repository will be of the form

    2) You make some changes to that in your local machine and push them. Now the copy you created will be updated, but not the original one from which you have forked your repo.

    3) If you want the changes you added to your forked repo to be applied to original repo(this may be helpful to the people who are organizing the repo) then you have to create a pull request which you can do through UI. Then if they like your contribution, they will merge that with their code.

    Generally this is what open source organizations do.

    Deleting your forked repository will not affect the master(original) repository.

    Like I have shown an example by deleting a forked repo

    This is my forked repo (Image)

    Deleting the forked repo

    And no changes to the original repository.

    The master repo is something like an original one.

    Forking is same as creating a xerox copy of the original one. Even if you get your xeroxed paper damaged, will it be that the original document also gets damaged. Obviously No.

    So its the same as that.

    Hope this helps.

    Answer is NO. It won’t affect the original/main repository where you forked from. (Functionally, it will be incorrect if such an access is provided to a non-owner).

    Just wanted to add this though.

    Warning: It will delete the local commits and branches you created on
    your forked repo. So, before deleting make sure there is a backup of
    that code with you if it is important.

    Best way would be getting a git backup of forked repo using:

    git bundle 

    or other methods that are familiar.

    select project to delete->settings->buttom click delete button->enter name of the repositories

    Git Baby is a git and github fan, let's start git clone.